Soils rethought:
The Swiss Original for Healthy Soil and Strong Plants.

Long lasting fertile soils

Resilient plants and high growth rates

Certified carbon sink

As Europe's first manufacturer of biochar, Swiss Biochar has been offering biochar of high EBC quality since 2010. Together with the Ithaka Institute, we have developed humus-rich soil substrates with activated plant carbon.

Optimally adapted to the needs of the plants, they can be used immediately. Our dark soils are climate-positive products that give nature exactly what it needs.

Swiss Terra Preta:
Four perfectly balanced soil substrates with activated biochar

Plant humus

With 10% activated biochar for a long-term vitalized soil and healthy plants.

Soil activator

With 30% activated biochar for sustainable soil improvement and more success in gardening.

Soil elixir

With 70% activated biochar for sustainable soil remediation and lasting fertility.

Tree elixir

With 70% activated biochar for sustainable soil remediation and lasting tree health.

Swiss Biochar Pure:
Pure biochar for livestock and for self-composting

Pure biochar

Our EBC certified, 100% pure biochar with > 80% carbon content to mix and activate yourself for your soils or for animal welfare as an additive in feed and bedding.

Your Advantages

Sustainable soil improvement and permanently increased storage capacity of nutrients and water

The porous structure of activated biochar acts like a sponge, storing nutrients and water. Important microorganisms that live in nutrient symbiosis with the plants find a perfect living space here. Your plants thus get exactly what they need at any time.

You need to fertilize and water them less. That saves costs and effort - and protects nature.

3x more growth and plant resilience

Swiss Terra Preta products act like a cure for the soil. The fertile earth substrates bring the ecosystem in the soil back into balance. Your plants are thus significantly less susceptible to diseases and stress. And can thrive in the best conditions.

For better growing, more flowering plants and higher crop yields.

Uncompromisingly climate-friendly with certified carbon sink

Biochar holds enormous potential for reducing CO2 levels in the air. Plants bind CO2 in their biomass, but release it again when they rot or are burned. By carbonizing them, the climate-damaging CO2 gas can be permanently bound and removed from the atmosphere - even for thousands of years.

For example: 1 kg of pure biochar binds 2.9 kg of CO2

Biochar replaces peat in our substrates, the decomposition of which is harmful to the climate and destroys entire ecosystems. The composting of biochar also prevents further emissions. In this way, our Swiss Biochar Terra Preta products save further emissions compared to comparable peat-free products.

For example: 1 kg of soil elixir binds 5.54 kg of CO2 ein
(of which 1.015 kg bound in biochar and sequestered as a certified carbon sink)

Active, comprehensive climate protection with a lasting effect.

The original from Switzerland

Swiss Biochar is Europe's first producer of high-quality, EBC-certified biochar, which meets the highest quality standards with a carbon content of over 80%. Uncompromisingly climate-friendly, we focus on sustainable, regional production and always strive for short distribution channels.

Based on our expertise, we have developed a portfolio of highly fertile soil substrates together with the Ithaka Institute: our Swiss Terra Preta products.

The original from Switzerland for healthy soil and strong plants.

This is how you can use our products:

Agriculture and
Specialty Crops

For rich yields today and tomorrow: Our soil substrates are also effective for particularly stressed soils. Swiss Terra Preta is suitable for soil remediation and maintenance as well as for new plantations. Use it directly in fruit & vegetable growing as well as for your viticulture. Or produce your own soil products with our pure biochar Swiss Biochar Pure. Our pure biochar is also proven as a feed additive or bedding for optimal animal health.

  • Increase yields of specialty crops

  • Permanently improve soil fertility

  • Promote animal health and stable hygiene

Growing fruit with biochar
Green roof, unsplash chuttersnap

Green building

Whether it's greening a terrace, roof or façade, the full potential of activated biochar is revealed when space is limited and stresses are high. From greenery to potted trees, our special substrates create the best conditions for healthy, resilient and vigorous plants. Environmental impact is reduced because pollutants and leached nutrients are re-bound in our filtration substrates.

  • Increase health and resilience of urban trees

  • Optimize water and nutrient management on difficult sites

  • Reduce the effort and cost of watering and fertilizing

  • Utilize innovative heavy rainfall management

Landscaping and horticulture

In parks, green spaces and lawns, you can significantly reduce their maintenance requirements in the long term by incorporating our biochar products into the soil. Plants are healthier, stronger and thus much more resilient even when the areas are used intensively - such as on golf courses or sports fields.

  • Creating optimal conditions for trees in both new plantings and reforestation

  • Increase resistance and resilience of plants

  • Maintain more resilient lawns and green spaces

  • Significantly reduce maintenance requirements

Landscaping with Swiss Biochar
Garden maintenance

Discerning garden owners

Whether your passion is for lush flowering plants, trees & hedges, lush green lawns or fruits and vegetables: With our optimized soil substrates you do something good for the environment and your plants. Even on smaller areas such as balconies or raised beds, you can create the optimal conditions for plants - and have more fun and success gardening.

  • Achieve higher crop yields

  • Promote flowering and growth

  • Fertilize less and water less frequently

  • Increase biodiversity in the soil

You would like to use Swiss Biochar? We will be happy to advise you!

About Swiss Biochar

As a Swiss company, we attach great importance to conservation, innovation and quality:

In close cooperation with the Ithaka Institute, we have been doing pioneering work in the field of biochar and substrate production since 2010. Swiss Biochar, for example, was the first manufacturer to produce high-quality biochar in Europe and the first company ever to receive EBC certification for this.

Our substrates are produced in elaborate composting processes that we have specially developed alongside the Ithaka Institute. These substrates are subject to ongoing, strict monitoring by independent institutes, allowing us to guarantee the highest quality soil substrates.

Since 2021, we have been part of the NovoCarbo Group, with whom we share the same values and convictions. Our joint expertise has enabled us to optimize our product range for a wide variety of applications - from viticulture to greenery and balcony plants.

2021
Merger with NovoCarbo

2018
New planting of the Plain de Plainpalais in Geneva with our tree elixir

2011
EBC Certification

2010
Founding of Swiss Biochar
Your contact persons:
Florian Lage

Florian Lage
E. f.lage@swiss-biochar.com

Lars-Johann Köhler

Lars-Johann Köhler
E. l.koehler@swiss-biochar.com

Scroll to Top

Böden neu gedacht:
Das Schweizer Original für gesunde Erde und starke Pflanzen

Dauerhaft fruchtbare Böden

Resiliente Pflanzen und hohe Zuwachsraten

Zertifizierte Kohlenstoffsenke

Als europaweit erster Hersteller bietet Swiss Biochar seit 2010 Pflanzenkohle von hoher EBC Qualität. Gemeinsam mit dem Ithaka Institut haben wir humusreiche Erdsubstrate mit aktivierter Pflanzenkohle entwickelt.

Optimal auf die Bedarfe der Pflanzen abgestimmt, können sie sofort eingesetzt werden. Unsere dunklen Erden sind klima­positive Produkte, die der Natur genau das geben, was sie braucht.

Swiss Terra Preta:
Vier perfekt abgestimmte Erdsubstrate mit aktivierter Pflanzenkohle

Pflanzhumus

Mit 10% aktivierter Pflanzenkohle für einen langfristig vitalisierten Boden und gesunde Pflanzen

Bodenaktivator

Mit 30% aktivierter Pflanzen­kohle für eine nachhaltige Boden­ver­besserung und mehr Erfolg beim Gärtnern

Bodenelixier

Mit 70% aktivierter Pflanzen­kohle für eine nachhaltige Boden­sanierung und dauer­hafte Fruchtbarkeit

Baumelixier

Mit 70% aktivierter Pflanzen­kohle für eine nachhaltige Boden­sanierung und dauer­hafte Baumgesundheit

Swiss Biochar Pure:
Reine Pflanzenkohle für die Tierhaltung und zum Selbstkompostieren

Pure Pflanzenkohle

Unsere EBC-zertifizierte, 100% reine Pflanzenkohle mit > 80% Kohlenstoffgehalt zum selbst Mischen und Aktivieren für Ihre Böden oder für mehr Tierwohl als Zusatz in Futter und Einstreu.

Ihre Vorteile

Nachhaltige Bodenverbesserung und dauerhaft erhöhte Speicherkapazität von Nährstoffen und Wasser

Die poröse Struktur aktivierter Pflanzenkohle wirkt wie ein Schwamm. Sie speichert Nährstoffe und Wasser. Wichtige Mikroorganismen, die mit den Pflanzen in Nährstoffsymbiose leben, finden hier einen perfekten Wohnraum. Ihre Pflanzen bekommen so jederzeit genau das, was sie brauchen.

Sie müssen weniger düngen und gießen. Das spart Kosten und Aufwand – und schont die Natur.

3x mehr Wachstum und Pflanzenresilienz

Swiss Terra Preta Produkte wirken wie eine Kur für den Boden. Die fruchtbaren Erdsubstrate bringen das Ökosystem im Boden wieder in Balance. Ihre Pflanzen sind so deutlich weniger anfällig für Krankheiten und Stress. Und können unter besten Bedingungen gedeihen.

Für besser wachsende, blühfreudigere Pflanzen und höhere Ernteerträge.

 

Kompromisslos klimafreundlich mit zertifizierter Kohlenstoffsenke

Pflanzenkohle birgt ein enormes Potenzial zur Senkung des CO2-Gehalts in der Luft. Pflanzen binden CO2 in ihrer Biomasse, setzen dieses jedoch bei Verrottung oder Verbrennung wieder frei. Durch ihr Verkohlen kann das klimaschädliche Gas CO2 dauerhaft gebunden und der Atmosphäre entzogen werden – sogar für Jahrtausende.

Ein Beispiel: 1 kg reine Pflanzenkohle bindet 2,9 kg CO2

Pflanzenkohle ersetzt in unseren Substraten Torf, dessen Abbau klimaschädigend ist und ganze Ökosysteme zerstört. Über die Kompostierung mit Pflanzenkohle werden zudem weitere Emissionen verhindert. So sparen unsere Swiss Biochar Terra Preta Produkte gegenüber torffreien Vergleichsprodukten weitere Emissionen ein.

Ein Beispiel: 1 kg Bodenelixier spart 5,54 kg CO2 ein
(davon 1,015 kg gebunden in Pflanzenkohle und als zertifizierte Kohlenstoffsenke stillgelegt)

Aktiver, umfassender Klimaschutz mit nachhaltiger Wirkung.

Das Original aus der Schweiz

Swiss Biochar ist Europas erster Produzent für hochwertige, EBC-zertifizierte Pflanzen­kohle, die mit einem Kohlenstoffgehalt von über 80% höchsten Qualitätsansprüchen genügt. Kompromisslos klimafreundlich setzen wir auf eine nachhaltige, regionale Produktion und streben stets kurze Vertriebswege an.

Auf Basis unserer Expertise haben wir gemeinsam mit dem Ithaka Institut ein Portfolio an hochfruchtbaren Erdsubstraten entwickelt: unsere Swiss Terra Preta Produkte.

Das Original aus der Schweiz für gesunde Erde und starke Pflanzen.

So können Sie unsere Produkte einsetzen:

Landwirtschaft und
Spezialkulturen

Für reiche Erträge heute und morgen: Unsere Erdsubstrate wirken auch bei besonders beanspruchten Böden. Swiss Terra Preta eignet sich für Bodensanierungen und Bestandspflege ebenso wie für Neuanlagen. Setzen Sie unsere Substrate direkt im Obst- & Gemüsebau und für Ihren Weinbau ein. Oder stellen Sie mit unserer reinen Pflanzenkohle Swiss Biochar Pure Pflanzenkohle eigene Bodenprodukte her. Unsere reine Pflanzenkohle ist auch bewährt als Futterzusatz oder Einstreu für eine optimale Tiergesundheit.

  • Erträge von Spezialkulturen steigern

  • Bodenfruchtbarkeit dauerhaft verbessern

  • Tiergesundheit und Stallhygiene fördern

Obstanbau mit Pflanzenkohle
Dachbegrünung, unsplash chuttersnap

Grünes Bauen

Egal ob Terrasse, Dach- oder Fassadenbegrünung: Bei limitiertem Raum und hoher Beanspruchung zeigt sich das volle Potential der aktivierten Pflanzenkohle. Von der Grünanlage bis zum Kübelbaum schaffen unsere Spezialsubstrate beste Voraussetzungen für ein gesundes, kräftiges Pflanzenwachstum. Umweltbelastungen werden reduziert, denn in unseren Filtrationssubstraten werden Schadstoffe und ausgewaschene Nährstoffe wieder gebunden.

  • Gesundheit und Resilienz von Stadtbäumen steigern

  • Wasser- und Nährstoffmanagement auf schwierigen Flächen optimieren

  • Aufwand und Kosten bei Wässerung und Düngung reduzieren

  • Innovatives Starkregenmanagement nutzen

Landschafts- und Gartenbau

In Parks, Grünanlagen und Rasenflächen können Sie durch das Einbringen unserer Pflanzenkohle-Produkte in den Boden Ihren Pflegeaufwand deutlich und langfristig reduzieren. Die Pflanzen sind gesünder, stärker und so auch bei intensiven Nutzungen der Flächen – wie etwa auf Golf- oder Sportplätzen – deutlich belastbarer.

  • Optimale Bedingungen für Bäume bei Neuanlagen und Sanierungen schaffen

  • Widerstandsfähigkeit und Resilienz der Pflanzen steigern

  • Belastbarere Rasenflächen und Grünanlagen erhalten

  • Pflegeaufwand deutlich reduzieren

Landschaftsbau mit Swiss Biochar Pflanzenkohle
Gartenpflege

Anspruchsvolle Gartenbesitzer

Egal ob Ihre Passion üppige Blühpflanzen, Bäume & Hecken, saftig-grüne Rasenflächen oder Obst- und Gemüse sind: Mit unseren optimierten Erdsubstraten tun Sie der Umwelt und Ihren Pflanzen etwas Gutes. Auch auf kleineren Flächen wie Balkon oder Hochbeet schaffen Sie für die Pflanzen die optimalen Bedingungen – und haben so mehr Freude und Erfolg beim Gärtnern.

  • Höhere Ernteerträge erzielen

  • Blühfreudigkeit und Wachstum fördern

  • Weniger düngen und seltener gießen

  • Biodiversität im Boden erhöhen

Sie möchten Swiss Biochar einsetzen? Wir beraten Sie gern!

Über Swiss Biochar

Als Schweizer Unternehmen legen wir großen Wert auf Naturschutz, Innovation und Qualität.

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ithaka-Institut leisten wir seit 2010 Pionierarbeit auf dem Gebiet der Pflanzenkohle- und Substrat­herstellung. So hat Swiss Biochar als erster Hersteller qualitativ hochwertige Pflanzenkohle in Europa produziert und hierfür als erstes Unternehmen überhaupt eine EBC-Zertifizierung erhalten.

Unsere Substrate entstehen in eigens von uns und dem Ithaka-Institut entwickelten, aufwändigen Kompostierungsprozessen, die einer laufenden, strengen Kontrolle durch unabhängige Institute unterliegen. So können wir für Erdsubstrate höchster Qualität garantieren.

Seit 2021 gehören wir zur NovoCarbo Gruppe, mit der wir die gleichen Werte und Überzeugungen teilen. Durch unsere gemeinsame Expertise konnten wir unsere Produktpalette für die unterschiedlichsten Anwendungsbereiche optimieren – vom Weinbau über Grünanlagen bis hin zur Balkonpflanze.

2021

Zusammen­schluss mit NovoCarbo

2018

Neuanlage der Genfer Plain de Plainpalais mit unserem Baumelixier

2011

EBC-Zertifizierung

2010

Gründung von Swiss Biochar

Ihre Ansprechpartner:
Florian Lage

Florian Lage
E. f.lage@swiss-biochar.com

Lars-Johann Köhler

Lars-Johann Köhler
E. l.koehler@swiss-biochar.com

Scroll to Top